Global innovators, Australian-style: Winners of the 2018 Advance Awards announced

Ten extraordinary Australians have been announced as the category winners of the 2018 Advance Awards, recognised for their outstanding contributions on the world stage.

Their achievements are in diverse fields: from education, sustainability and the arts to financial services and technology innovation, in countries including the UK, USA and India.

"Australians are leaders and changemakers in thought and innovation in many fields and endeavours across the globe," Advance chairman Yasmin Allen said. "The Advance Awards recognise the best and brightest each year and tap into their desire to be connected back to Australia to contribute to the country’s growth and prosperity. Through mentorship, academic ties and business introductions, we are creating a smart grid of talent across the globe that is uniquely Australian, yet global."

In 2018, Advance welcomes NAB as its major partner for the Advance Awards and its Innovation Programs. 

"NAB is proud to partner with Advance and accelerate, celebrate and champion Australian entrepreneurs," said Anthony Healy, NAB’s Chief Customer Officer - Business and Private Banking. 

The winners of the seventh annual Advance Awards will be celebrated at a dinner in Sydney on Thursday October 18 at Sydney Town Hall. The winner of the overall Advance Award across all categories will be announced on the night.

As well as 10 category winners, there are two special awards to be presented:

  • The Global Alumni Award, recognising an outstanding global Alumni of an Australian university. This year's winner is the editor-in-chief of Vogue China, Angelica Cheung, who received an MBA from the University of South Australia.

  • The Global Impact Award, recognising the contribution of Professor Barry Marshall, Nobel Laureate, Professor and director of the University of Western Australia Marshall Centre - and a co-director of Infagen (HK) Ltd.

Award winners are chosen by eminent Australians who represent the country's diverse entrepreneurial culture and global contribution.

The 2018 Advance Awards category winners are:

  • Advanced Manufacturing Award - Derek Buckmaster, Director, Deakin University's Carbon Nexus research facility

  • Education Award - Dr Renae Beaumont, Assistant Professor of Psychology in Clinical Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medicine and Secret Agent Society program developer

  • Financial Services Award - Dr Geraldine Buckingham, Global Head of Corporate Strategy, BlackRock

  • Food and Agriculture Award - Dalene Wray, Managing director, OBE Organic

  • Life Sciences Award - Dr Thomas Oxley, Founder and CEO, Synchron

  • Mining and Resources Award - Alexandra Readhead, International Tax and Extractive Industries Consultant,Intergovernmental Forum on Mining and Sustainable Development 

  •  Social Impact Award - Alexie Seller, Co-founder and CEO, Pollinate Energy

  •  Sustainability Award - Pete Ceglinski, CEO and co-founder, Seabin Group

  • Technology Innovation Award - Leanne Kemp, Founder and CEO, Everledger

  •  The Arts - Brook Andrew, Artist and Artistic Director of the 22nd Biennale of Sydney for 2020

Keep up to date with our Award winners in the lead up to the #AdvanceAwards18


AustraliaAdvanceAdvance Awards