Professor Barry Marshall

Professor Barry Marshall AC Nobel Laureate  - Who Goes First.  Photo by Adrienne Marshall.JPG

In 2005 Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in recognition of their 1982 discovery that a bacterium, Helicobacter pylori, causes one of the most common and important diseases of mankind: peptic ulcer disease. Dr Marshall is a professor and director of University of Western Australia Marshall Centre and co-director of Infagen (HK) Ltd. In 1998, he was made a Fellow of the Royal Society. In 2008, he was elected as a Foreign Member of the prestigious US National Academy of Science, an institution established in 1863 by President Abraham Lincoln. Born in Kalgoorlie in 1951, Dr Marshall completed his undergraduate medical degree at the University of Western Australia in 1974.

Professor Marshall is the 2018 Advance Global Impact Award Winner.