Contact Us  


Advance Global Australians is supported by the Australian Government through the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.




Global Australians: Partnerships for the Asian Century

Welcome to the Advance Asia 50  Summit website.

Advance, Australia’s leading global network for Australians abroad, hosted the Advance Asia 50 Summit in Shanghai, at the Hyatt on the Bund on March 30 and 31, 2009.

Among the participants at this cross disciplinary event were a select group from across Asia of established and emerging Australian leaders, distinguished alumni from Australian universities and respected Asian counterparts.

Delegates were influential thinkers and leaders identified across a number of fields including education, sustainable development, business, science and technology, finance, tourism and hospitality, mining and natural resources, community development, research and the arts.

The Summit featured a program of pre-eminent speakers, panel discussions and workshops, designed to create a powerful dialogue and exchange of ideas between delegates and Australian Government agencies. The ideas and ambitions from the Summit will be captured in a final report of recommendations for both the Federal Government and Advance.




 Mr Ken Allen AM

Former Australian Consul General to New York and Chairman Emeritus of Advance 

Mr David Anstice

Retired Executive Vice President, Merck & Co., Inc.

Dame Dr Bridget Ogilvie

DBE, FRS, Trustee, Cancer Research UK 

Mr Doug Elix AO

Former Senior Vice President and Group Executive, IBM Sales and Distribution 

Mr Bob Joss

Dean Emeritus, Stanford Business School 

Mrs Josephine Linden

Retired Partner, Goldman Sachs 

Mr Peter Lowy 

Managing Director, the Westfield Group 

Mr Michael Hintze

CEO, CQS, LLP and Global Philanthropist

Mr Jeremy Philips

Executive Vice President, Office of the Chairman, News Corporation

Mr Robert Rankin

Former Managing Director, Head of Investment Banking, Asia Pacific, and Member of UBS Investment Bank Board, UBS

Mr Tony Surtees 

Executive Director, Prime Digitalworks Pty Ltd